Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Wednesday, June 16, 2010 Network Maintenance

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    137

    Default

    lol very lucky SomeE1se, it seems vpslink's dns servers went down last night killing alot of my stuff had to change them after i realised what had happened to opendns's to fix it all

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    My network connectivity both to my vps from home, and from the vps out to other sites (I run scripts that connect out) has been very intermittent for the last 24 - 48 hours. I'm on 209.59.222.xxx, which I believe has just been migrated.

    I'm not doing anything that requires five 9s or anything like that, but I am hoping this will settle down soon - does anybody have any idea what the problem is and when it's likely to be resolved? I'll look into using opendns as a backup which might help a bit with outgoing connections, but that can't be the problem that cause ssh sessions that have been up for hours to suddenly be reset.

    S.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    465

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by srd424 View Post
    My network connectivity both to my vps from home, and from the vps out to other sites (I run scripts that connect out) has been very intermittent for the last 24 - 48 hours. I'm on 209.59.222.xxx, which I believe has just been migrated.

    I'm not doing anything that requires five 9s or anything like that, but I am hoping this will settle down soon - does anybody have any idea what the problem is and when it's likely to be resolved? I'll look into using opendns as a backup which might help a bit with outgoing connections, but that can't be the problem that cause ssh sessions that have been up for hours to suddenly be reset.

    S.
    well I opened a support ticket complaining about routing issues which they denied but there were 3 site reports(after opening a ticket so total 6 reports) showing my ip was unreachable yesterday (all they did was ping my server once to see it was up and follow up ping when I reopened the ticket) however no such reports for over 16 hours so I think it may be resolved. Just open and reopen tickets which might help since they said I was the only one who reported an issue.
    Last edited by Cwewmpz; 06-18-2010 at 03:03 PM.
    Happily on a Link3. Feel free to request a refferal code that takes a 10% lifetime discount off your hosting.
    Please open a SUPPORT TICKET AND CALL vpslink to resolve your vpslink problems FIRST
    I am a CUSTOMER Only. Any vpslink issues should be directed to Matt@VPSLink and/or Michael@VPSLink

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cwewmpz View Post
    well I opened a support ticket complaining about routing issues which they denied but there were 3 site reports(after opening a ticket so total 6 reports) showing my ip was unreachable yesterday (all they did was ping my server once to see it was up and follow up ping when I reopened the ticket) however no such reports for over 16 hours so I think it may be resolved. Just open and reopen tickets which might help since they said I was the only one who reported an issue.
    OK, I've opened a ticket. As I said I'm not personally panicking about this, but it would be nice to know that someone was aware of the problem and has it in hand ..

    S.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Now seems to be persistently unreachable:

    Code:
    $ traceroute xxxxx
    traceroute to xxxxx (209.59.222.xxx), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
     1  router (192.168.xxx.xxx)  0.518 ms  1.241 ms  1.473 ms
     2  lo98.sc-acc-bras-12.as9105.net (212.74.102.12)  214.649 ms  218.697 ms  220.045 ms
     3  10.72.4.151 (10.72.4.151)  223.342 ms  226.215 ms  233.803 ms
     4  10.72.4.126 (10.72.4.126)  236.301 ms  238.197 ms  240.616 ms
     5  xe-1-2-0-10.lon10.ip4.tinet.net (213.200.77.49)  241.688 ms  243.980 ms  245.975 ms
     6  xe-1-0-0.lon14.ip4.tinet.net (89.149.183.166)  272.733 ms  272.927 ms xe-2-0-0.lon14.ip4.tinet.net (89.149.183.170)  255.176 ms
     7  ge-2-3-7.mpr1.lhr3.uk.above.net (64.125.12.105)  259.374 ms  209.399 ms  244.339 ms
     8  ge-5-1-0.mpr1.lhr2.uk.above.net (64.125.27.149)  281.564 ms  318.776 ms  353.187 ms
     9  so-0-1-0.mpr1.dca2.us.above.net (64.125.27.57)  388.682 ms  423.018 ms  457.279 ms
    10  so-1-0-0.mpr2.dca2.us.above.net (64.125.25.38)  491.547 ms  525.852 ms  560.064 ms
    11  xe-1-1-0.mpr4.bos2.us.above.net (64.125.25.69)  594.533 ms  623.262 ms  650.767 ms
    12  xe-0-0-0.mpr3.bos2.us.above.net (64.125.25.61)  652.787 ms  653.254 ms  653.660 ms
    13  64.124.50.5.available.above.net (64.124.50.5)  410.243 ms  281.616 ms  322.866 ms
    14  * * *
    15  * * *
    16  * * *
    17  * * *
    [etc, up to 30 hops]
    Edit: Working again - for the moment. The missing piece of the puzzle seems to be:
    Code:
    14  250.252.148.207.static.yourhostingaccount.com (207.148.252.250)  319.626 ms  320.670 ms  321.131 ms
    S.

    S.
    Last edited by srd424; 06-18-2010 at 08:46 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Another observation, I don't know if it will be useful to anybody: the route from me to VPSLink goes via AboveNet, the route back comes through Cogent, so it may in fact be the return route that is the problem.

    I set up a cron job to traceroute from the VPS to me, and when the routing is down, I get no traceroute entries at all:
    Code:
    traceroute to 79.69.139.217 (79.69.139.217), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
     1  * * *
     2  * * *
    [etc]
    When things are working, the first hops on the return route are:

    Code:
    traceroute to 79.69.139.217 (79.69.139.217), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
     1  209.59.222.1 (209.59.222.1)  0.239 ms  0.298 ms  0.378 ms
     2  237.252.148.207.static.yourhostingaccount.com (207.148.252.237)  0.467 ms
    [..]
    I'm not sure what's going on there. Is the .1 router a physical device, or is it the VM hypervisor? Could this be some sort of ARP issue? That might explain why the drop outs seem to happen more often when my VPS is idle. Would be good to hear from some VPSLink staff on this one .. even just bouncing ideas around here might get us somewhere.

    Steve

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    465

    Default

    I think this is an issue with cogentco but hard to say since my routes can be so erratic but it mostly changes when it goes through cogentco.
    Happily on a Link3. Feel free to request a refferal code that takes a 10% lifetime discount off your hosting.
    Please open a SUPPORT TICKET AND CALL vpslink to resolve your vpslink problems FIRST
    I am a CUSTOMER Only. Any vpslink issues should be directed to Matt@VPSLink and/or Michael@VPSLink

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I just submitted a ticket. Noticed issues yesterday with one server. Today 2 of my 3 are not responding. No signs of hacking, not running out of RAM. I can still get status and vitals from web login, but no SSH or other services responding, not even ping.

    I believe all 3 servers have been moved already.
    Broken IPs:
    209.59.222.XXX
    209.59.223.XXX

    Working IPs:
    66.249.4.XXX

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lowrider130 View Post
    I just submitted a ticket. Noticed issues yesterday with one server. Today 2 of my 3 are not responding. No signs of hacking, not running out of RAM. I can still get status and vitals from web login, but no SSH or other services responding, not even ping.

    I believe all 3 servers have been moved already.
    Broken IPs:
    209.59.222.XXX
    209.59.223.XXX
    Glad it's not just me - I can stop feeling guilty that it might somehow be my fault! To be fair VPSLink are working away at this behind the scenes, I'm getting updates on my ticket occasionally and they've set up some diagnostics in my VPS and tweaked a setting or two.

    I do recall from when I used to do this sort of stuff professionally myself (back in the dark ages) that intermittent routing stuff was hellish to debug. Hardware? Software? Config problem? So many variables.. Would be good to see a resolution though.

    s.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    465

    Default

    where does your vps need to ssh to? amsterdam, uk?
    at first I thought you should contact tiscali but now I dunno.
    Happily on a Link3. Feel free to request a refferal code that takes a 10% lifetime discount off your hosting.
    Please open a SUPPORT TICKET AND CALL vpslink to resolve your vpslink problems FIRST
    I am a CUSTOMER Only. Any vpslink issues should be directed to Matt@VPSLink and/or Michael@VPSLink

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •