Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: can't get quotas to work (I've tried everyghing I found)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default can't get quotas to work (I've tried everyghing I found)

    Hi folks, hope you are doing well.

    I've installed WHM in my brand new VPS a few days ago, and since then I'd been trying to get User Quota runinng but without success.
    I've tried many many things that I've found in this this forum (and also googling) related to the errors I'm having, but nothing worked as fix. Maybe at some point this bunch of patches screwed it up, who knows...

    Just some backgruond before describing the err:
    - it's a XEN vm at VPSLink.com
    - Centos 5.2-i386-default (this is what VPSLink says in it's panel)
    And linux says: Linux version 2.6.18-238.9.1.el5xen
    root@vps [/usr/local/cpanel/logs]# cat /etc/*-release
    CentOS release 5.6 (Final)
    - WHM 11.30.0 (build 32)

    - I've moved almost all acoounts from an "old" WHM reseller account by exporting a BKP and using Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file feature in new WHM (so this backup did import the Account Package settings with their respective quota settings as well)

    - I've run the "Initial Quota Setup" script in WHM but I can't remember if it was after or before importing accounts, I can't tell exactly...


    So, the problem when I run /scripts/fixquotas is :

    Code:
    root@vps [/]# /scripts/fixquotas
    Installing Default Quota Databases...../aquota.user..../quota.user..../var/tmp/aquota.user..../var/tmp/quota.user.....Done
    Linux Quota Support
    Quotas are now on
    Warning : Your system does not have a separate filesystem for backups. This may cause performance degradation during the backup process.
    Updating Quota Files......
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/simfs [/] quotacheck: Checked 24822 directories and 185188 files
            quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile //aquota.user.new to name //aquota.user: Operation not permitted
            done
    
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/simfs [/] quotacheck: Checked 24822 directories and 185189 files
            done
    
    ....Done
    Reading package proasoci_small50
    Resetting quota for assistan to 50 M
    edquota: Can't open quotafile //aquota.user: Permission denied
    No filesystems with quota detected.
    
    AND SO ON FOR EACH ACCOUNT
    I'd been checking permissions and mounted devs as suggested, but all seems to be ok (as per seen in other posts)

    contents of /etc/fstabs
    Code:
    root@vps [/]# cat /etc/fstab
    
    /dev/sda1               /                       ext3    defaults,usrquota,noatime 1 1
    /dev/sda2               none                    swap    sw       0 0
    none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults 0 0
    none                    /proc                   proc    defaults 0 0
    none                    /sys                    sysfs   defaults 0 0
    
    /usr/tmpDSK             /tmp                    ext3    defaults,noauto        0 0
    /tmp             /var/tmp                    ext3    defaults,usrquota,bind,noauto        0 0
    output for mount
    Code:
    /dev/simfs on / type reiserfs (rw,usrquota,grpquota)
    /dev on /dev type tmpfs (rw)
    /proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    /sys on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /selinux type selinuxfs (rw)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /dev/loop0 on /tmp type ext3 (rw,nosuid,noexec,data=ordered)
    /dev/loop0 on /var/tmp type ext3 (rw,nosuid,noexec,data=ordered)
    permissions and lsattr on /*quota* files
    Code:
    root@vps [/]# ls -all *quota*
    -rw------- 1 root root   13312 Jul  4 22:04 aquota.group
    -rwxr--r-- 1 root root   14336 Jul  4 22:02 aquota.user*
    -rw------- 1 root root   14336 Jul  4 22:03 aquota.user.new
    -rw------- 1 root root 1024320 Jul  4 22:04 quota.group
    -rwxr--r-- 1 root root 2097152 Jul  4 22:04 quota.user*
    
    root@vps [/]# lsattr /*quota*
    ------------- /aquota.group
    ------------- /aquota.user
    ------------- /aquota.user.new
    ------------- /quota.group
    ------------- /quota.user
    contents of /etc/quota.conf
    Code:
    root@vps [/]# cat /etc/quota.conf
    proasoci=150
    menosinf=70
    restore=50
    sklr=1024
    assistan=50
    cpanelphpmyadmin=0
    cpanelhorde=0
    cpanelroundcube=0
    named=0
    luisg=70
    xviicong=150
    cpaneleximfilter=0
    ita=250
    ramirez=70
    nueba=125
    cpanel=0
    cpanelphppgadmin=0
    luiggig=70
    bikinis=50
    permissions for /etc/quota.conf
    Code:
    root@vps [/]# ls -all /etc/quota.conf
    -rw------- 1 root root 237 Jul  4 22:04 /etc/quota.conf
    root@vps [/]# lsattr /etc/quota.conf
    ------------- /etc/quota.conf


    I've also tried running /scripts/initquotas with no success, the same permission error cames up...

    Several methods I've found googling around also didn't work.. Don't know what's wrong, I don't have enough linux skills.


    Hope anyone can help. And thanks for reading up to the end!!

    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    465

    Default

    what xen package is this?

    I recommend contacting whm for their complementary support...
    However this error seems to be an issue with whm version. I would suggest the stable version.
    Happily on a Link3. Feel free to request a refferal code that takes a 10% lifetime discount off your hosting.
    Please open a SUPPORT TICKET AND CALL vpslink to resolve your vpslink problems FIRST
    I am a CUSTOMER Only. Any vpslink issues should be directed to Matt@VPSLink and/or Michael@VPSLink

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default fixed!! (so far...)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cwewmpz View Post
    what xen package is this?
    I don't know how exactly get that info. The VPS Control Panel doesn't say anything about XEN version, just OS version (and not the same as linux reports in console)
    The Side Band XEN console doesn't show version at all..
    CENTOS 5.6 i686 xenpv on vps is what WHM says
    and Red Hat nash version 5.1.19.6 starting is what boot says...

    Quote Originally Posted by Cwewmpz View Post
    I recommend contacting whm for their complementary support...
    However this error seems to be an issue with whm version. I would suggest the stable version.
    My current Update Level is RELEASE (recommended), so you mean setting the STABLE (safest) level?? Will this downgrade current version to an stable one? Or just for future releases?


    Anyway IT'S FIXED!!! I took the risky way, but it worked (I spent soooo much hours on this!!!)

    There are the steps:
    - stop WHM ( /etc/init.d/cpanel stop )
    - uninstall quota (yum erase quota)
    - reboot (System works fine, no crashes no problems. I've checked the boot log: Starting vzquota: /etc/rc3.d/S10vzquota: line 10: quotaon: command not found
    [FAILED]

    but nothing else weird or suspicious, cPanel started ok)
    - rename ALL current quota files for .bak (just in case!) This is the step I tried before (as seen in original post) but without succes because some denial.
    - install quota (yum install quota)
    - run /scripts/initquota
    - run /scripts/resetquota

    Then I logged in to WHM and when browsing accounts... magic!! all is working now (so far.. I hope forever!!)

    Remarks: accidentaly I forgot to remove the "old" /etc/quota.conf file (or mv for backup), but neither the init nor the reset scripts raised any related error... And quotas are working just as expected (as per Packages definitions)

    The thing about /quotafix not able to rename the current aquota.user files is reported as possible bug here (but with ext4):
    https : // bugzilla DOT redhat DOT com/show_bug.cgi?id=500231
    (hate the url prohibition for newbies...)

    Hope this scary quota thing will be useful for someone else

    Cheers,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    465

    Default

    Hello again. I was referring to what vpslink Link <package> you have.

    Did you reboot prior to reinstalling cpanel? Usually what you did will not solve an installation problem. It would make more sense that a centos update caused a problem that was corrected with a reboot.

    In any case thank you for a followup with your fix.
    Happily on a Link3. Feel free to request a refferal code that takes a 10% lifetime discount off your hosting.
    Please open a SUPPORT TICKET AND CALL vpslink to resolve your vpslink problems FIRST
    I am a CUSTOMER Only. Any vpslink issues should be directed to Matt@VPSLink and/or Michael@VPSLink

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hello again. I was referring to what vpslink Link <package> you have.
    yeah, I know, but i'm preey much a jerk and don't know where to get that info!! hehehe

    is this??
    Membership: VPSLink - Link 3

    canīt see anything else related to my box features... maybe I'm just not looking at the right place.

    Anyway, all seems to work fine now, the effort worht it

    cheers

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •