Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Error When trying to do Yum Update

Default Error When trying to do Yum Update

This is my first time to subscribe in a VPS hosting so please bear with me as I am a newbie.

After I logged in on my VPS via SSH is tried to invoke

Code:
    yum update
    and I got this error:
    Code:
    [root@phpar ~]# yum update
    Loading "fastestmirror" plugin
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
     * rpmforge: fr2.rpmfind.net
     * base: mirror.vpslink.com
     * updates: mirror.vpslink.com
     * addons: mirror.vpslink.com
     * extras: mirror.vpslink.com
    Excluding Packages in global exclude list
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in ?
        yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 105, in main
        result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 289, in doCommands
        self._getTs()
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/depsolve.py", line 85, in _getTs
        self._getTsInfo()
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/depsolve.py", line 91, in _getTsInfo
        self._tsInfo.setDatabases(self.rpmdb, self.pkgSack)
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 537, in <lambda>
        pkgSack = property(fget=lambda self: self._getSacks(),
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 395, in _getSacks
        self.excludePackages()
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 689, in excludePackages
        exactmatch, matched, unmatched = \
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/packages.py", line 82, in parsePackages
        pkgdict = buildPkgRefDict(pkgs)
      File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/yum/packages.py", line 70, in buildPkgRefDict
        pkgdict[item] = []
    MemoryError
    why? It's also the same when I try to install vim and other packages. Please help.

What Link are you on? Xen or OpenVZ?