Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Server throttling / hang?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Server throttling / hang?

    Hi there,

    I have a VM setup and am trying to copy a file to a remote host via netcat. For some reason, after copying approximately 20MB the transfer hangs. On the VM, the netcat process is using 80-100% cpu. If I pause (ctrl-z) the process and then unpause it (fg 1) it will transfer a little more data and then hang again. It seems that if I restrict the throughput speed via something like socat with -d -d -d -d the transfer goes through sometimes.

    Are there any mechanisms in place that are restricting resource usage? The network speed between the two hosts is high could I be bouncing off a protection mechanism?

    Thanks!

    Update: FYI, I tried doing the netcat locally through tcp sockets and it worked. Remote copy still hanging.
    Last edited by tgk; 12-18-2008 at 09:03 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Have you tried rsync'ing it to the remote host?
    There shouldn't be a cap on network usage.
    Note: my views are my own and do not reflect those of VPSLink

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I'd really like netcat or socat to work due to some scripting I'm using. I tried the same commands on different systems I administer and had no issues so its something specific with the vpslink vm.

    Update: I also tried sending from the vm to a different remote host, and it hung the same way.
    Last edited by tgk; 12-19-2008 at 10:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    FYI, Rsync with SSH also hangs up:

    tgk@vamp.digitalstreams.net's password:
    Remote-XP.tar.gz
    1479835648 52% 11.14MB/s 0:01:58

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    338

    Default

    What link do you have? Xen or OpenVZ?
    Note: my views are my own and do not reflect those of VPSLink

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Do you have any sort of firewall or routing application installed? You might also want to open a support ticket, but I'd eliminate possible causes within your slice first.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Universes View Post
    What link do you have? Xen or OpenVZ?
    Its a Link 4 OpenVZ running Fedora 10 with all latest updates/patches.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Defenestrator View Post
    Do you have any sort of firewall or routing application installed? You might also want to open a support ticket, but I'd eliminate possible causes within your slice first.
    All routes are standard -- nothing special there. The firewall is just a basic iptables based config with Fedora.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    392

    Default

    Whats your memory utilization looking like? I've never had issues transferring files > 1gb via scp on my Link4.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •